Ginger’s bread Bars

March 24, 2010 § 3 Comments

                 

Ginger is a favorite of mine I am always down for trying a recipe containing this spice. There is something about the smell that makes me want to add just a dash of it to whatever I can when I cook and that’s not often. I like my desserts very sweet if I had to rate these for sweetness on a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it a 6. But, everyone’s palate is different. I’ve made these two different ways, with light and dark brown sugar. If you try this recipe and you think it’s too sweet try switching to light brown sugar that should dull it down a bit. Ginger’s bread Bars have a brownie consistency and are pretty tasty by themselves but even better with ice cream.
Yields 24 bars

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger 
2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
(1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup Brown sugar ; (packed) dark brown sugar
7 1/2 tablespoons sugar ; divided
2 large eggs
1/4 cup Molasses 

 Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour 15x10x1-inch baking sheet (I actually don’t butter and flour I find it easier to us cake release ,I know some people are old school so do what you feel fits your baking style)Place 2 cups flour in medium bowl; transfer 2 tablespoons flour to small bowl and reserve for later. Add spices, baking soda, and salt to flour in medium bowl and sift together. Using an electric mixer, beat butter, brown sugar, and 6 tablespoons sugar in large bowl until fluffy. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, then molasses. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture and beat to blend. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan. Sift reserved 2 tablespoons flour evenly over batter, then sprinkle evenly with remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar.
Bake gingerbread until golden brown about 22 minutes; cool completely in pan on rack. Cut gingerbread crosswise into 4 strips, then cut each strip into 6 pieces, forming 24 bars

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Ginger’s bread Bars

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ginger’s bread Bars at .

meta

